KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 11 -- The government has decided to implement the Movement Control Order (MCO) in six states - Penang, Selangor, Federal Territories (Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan), Melaka, Johor and Sabah - for 14 days, from Wednesday until Jan 26.

Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said another six states - Pahang, Perak, Negeri Sembilan, Kedah, Terengganu and Kelantan - would be placed under the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) while the Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO) would be enforced in Perlis and Sarawak for the same period.

“Based on risk assessments done by the Health Ministry (MOH), National Security Council (MKN) and other ministries and agencies as well as the advice of public health experts in the country, the government agrees that firm action needs to be taken to break the COVID-19 chain of infection,” he said in a special address aired live over local television today.

Muhyiddin said states placed under the MCO were classified as high risks based on MOH’s assessment and their health services capability had almost reached maximum capacity.

MOH would continue to make risk assessments to determine whether the MCO needs to be extended or not, he added.

  • Date Mon, 11 Jan 2021
  • Outbreak Covid-19
  • Category National
  • View 915